As India is known for unity in diversity- also enshrined in the Preamble to the Constitution, it is necessary that all the regional languages recognized in the Eighth Schedule be encouraged, developed and used as the official language of the Union. This will promote national integrity. It is really important for an IAS Aspirant to understand this divesity.


  • Office of Profit
  • Legal cases related to office of profit


  • The act was enacted in 1963 to provide for the languages which may be used for the official purpose of the Union, for transaction of business in Parliament, for Central and State Acts and for certain purpose in High Courts.
  • As per the Act, both English and Hindi shall be used for certain specified purposes like resolutions, rules, general orders,
    notifications, press communiqués, administrative and other reports, licenses, tenders, etc.

Constitutional Provisions:

  • Part XVII of the Indian constitution deals with the official languages in Articles 343 to 351.
  • The Eighth Schedule to the Constitution consists of the following 22 languages. 14 were initially included in the Constitution. Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santhali were added by 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.
  •  Article 343(1) of the Constitution of India, Hindi in Devanagari script shall be the official language of the
  • Article 343(3) made provisions for the continuation of English even after 25th January 1965 by empowering the parliament to make laws to that effect.
  •  Article 344(1) provides for the constitution of a Commission by the President on expiration of five years from the commencement of the Constitution.
  •  Article 348 (1) of the Constitution of India provides that all proceedings in the Supreme Court and in every High court shall be in English Language until Parliament by law otherwise provides
  • Article 351 provides for the spread of the Hindi language to develop it so that it may serve as a medium of expression for all the elements of the composite culture of India


  •  Under Article 344 of the Constitution, a Commission shall consist of a Chairman and such other members representing the different languages specified in the Eighth Schedule as the President may appoint, and the order shall define the procedure to be followed by the Commission.
  •  It shall be the duty of the Commission to make recommendations to the President as to
    •  the progressive use of the Hindi language for the official purposes of the Union
    •  restrictions on the use of the English language for all or any of the official purposes of the Union;
    •  the language to be used for all or any of the purposes mentioned in article 348;
    •  the form of numerals to be used for any one or more specified purposes of the Union
    •  any other matter referred to the Commission by the President as regards the official language of the Union
    •  the language for communication between the Union and a State or between one State and another and their
  •  It is also mentioned that a Committee shall be constituted consisting of thirty members, of whom twenty shall be members of the House of the People and ten shall be members of the Council of States. It shall be the duty of the Committee to examine the recommendations of the Commission and to report to the President their opinion  thereon.


Aspirants can check out the following links to prepare for the upcoming Civil services Exam more comprehensively – Polity Click here