There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. One of the first mentions of Schedules was made in the Government of India Act, 1935 where it included 10 Schedules. Later, when Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it consisted of 8 Schedules. Today, with the amendments in Indian Constitution, there are a total of 12 Schedules.  IAS aspirants need to make sure  that they know about the 12 Schedules for UPSC prelims exams


  • Schedules of Indian Constitution


Schedules of Constitution


Latest Development

First Schedule Lists the states and territories of India (also about their changes) 29 states plus 9 UT , Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Daman and Diu (1987), Lakshadweep, Puducherry (1960s) Chandigarh (1966), Dadar and Nagar Haveli., Jammu Kashmir and Laddakh - 2019
Second Schedule Lists the salaries of officials holding public office, Presidents, judges, and Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Third Schedule Forms of oaths and Affirmations of offices for elected officials including judges
Fourth Schedule Allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha (the Upper House of Parliament) per State or Union Territory It deals with the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha: States, UTs (233 + 12 nominated = 245).
Fifth Schedule Provisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes PESA (Panchayats (Extension to the Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996: Definition of scheduled area (Article 244 (1). Provisions (Resemble 6th schedule).
Sixth Schedule Provisions as to the Administration of Tribal Areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram
Seventh Schedule The Union (central government), state, and concurrent lists of responsibilities
Eight Schedule The Languages Initially, there were only 14 languages, but after 21st Amendment (1967) Sindhi was added; after 71st Amendment (1992), Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali added; and after 92nd Amendment (2003), Santhali, Bodo, Maithili, and Dogri added.
Ninth Schedule Validation of certain Acts and Regulations 19 in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review.
Tenth Schedule “Anti-defection” provisions for the Members of Parliament and the Members of the State Legislatures “Anti-defection” provisions for the Members of Parliament and the Members of the State Legislatures
Eleventh Schedule Panchayat Raj (rural local government) Added by 73rd Amendment in 1992
Twelth Schedule Municipalities (urban local government) Added by 74th Amendment in 1992


This article will provide you with a list of Schedules of Indian Constitution, important for the IAS Exam from the perspective of Indian Polity. To read more articles on Polity click here